Comparison · Authentication

Auth0 vs Clerk: facts from official sources

A side-by-side of Auth0 and Clerk for user sign-up and login (authentication), built from facts on each vendor's own pages. They have too few model picks in October 2026 to compare yet.

Facts checked 2026-10-19Picks measured 2026-10-19Method

Model pick, not a product recommendation. The models answered without a repository, existing code or tools, so the index shows what a model names when nothing in the project constrains it. It says nothing about quality, security, price or market share.

Facts from official sources

Read on the vendors' own pages on 2026-10-19. Where we could not verify a fact there, the table says so instead of guessing. No prices are shown; check the pricing pages.

Auth0 and Clerk: facts from the vendors' own pages, checked 2026-10-19.
FactAuth0Clerk
VendorOkta, Inc.Clerk
What it is (vendor's description)Identity platform for logging users in and controlling access across customer apps, enterprise apps, machine-to-machine services and AI agents. (source)Hosted service providing user authentication, multi-tenancy and billing tooling for apps, with SDKs for several web frameworks. (source)
Typehosted servicehosted service
Open sourceNot stated on the pages we readNot stated on the pages we read
Self-hostingNot stated on the pages we readNot stated on the pages we read
Free plan on the pricing pageYes (source)Yes (source)
EU region named in the vendor's docsNot stated on the pages we readNot stated on the pages we read
Official Next.js guideGuideGuide
Official SDK languages (as listed).NET, Java, JavaScript/Node.js, Python, Go, PHP, Ruby, FlutterJavaScript, Go, Java, PHP, Python, C#, Ruby
Documentation and pricingDocs · PricingDocs · Pricing
  • Auth0: Vendor named as Okta, Inc. in page footer
  • Auth0: Pricing page lists Private Deployment as an Enterprise add-on; no EU region listed on fetched pages
  • Auth0: SDK list truncated to 8; docs also list iOS/macOS, Android, Kotlin Multiplatform
  • Clerk: Free plan is named Hobby
  • Clerk: SDK list includes frameworks (Next.js, React, Expo); languages are those on the SDK overview; Android/iOS also listed

What models picked

Not enough picks yet

In October 2026, Auth0 was named 0 times and Clerk 5 times in Authentication (minimum 15 each for a comparison). We show no comparison of picks until both have enough.

What we do not measure

We do not measure price, quality, security, reliability, GDPR compliance or support. A model pick says what the models named, not which product is better for your project. For those questions use the vendors' own documentation: Auth0 docs, Clerk docs.

Sources

Pages the facts above were read on, checked 2026-10-19.