Comparison · Authentication

Clerk vs Supabase Auth: facts from official sources

A side-by-side of Clerk and Supabase Auth for user sign-up and login (authentication), built from facts on each vendor's own pages. They have too few model picks in October 2026 to compare yet.

Facts checked 2026-10-19Picks measured 2026-10-19Method

Model pick, not a product recommendation. The models answered without a repository, existing code or tools, so the index shows what a model names when nothing in the project constrains it. It says nothing about quality, security, price or market share.

Facts from official sources

Read on the vendors' own pages on 2026-10-19. Where we could not verify a fact there, the table says so instead of guessing. No prices are shown; check the pricing pages.

Clerk and Supabase Auth: facts from the vendors' own pages, checked 2026-10-19.
FactClerkSupabase Auth
VendorClerkSupabase
What it is (vendor's description)Hosted service providing user authentication, multi-tenancy and billing tooling for apps, with SDKs for several web frameworks. (source)User management and authentication server, issuing JWTs and supporting email, password, magic link, phone and external provider sign-in. (source)
Typehosted servicehosted service
Open sourceNot stated on the pages we readYes, MIT (repository) (source)
Self-hostingNot stated on the pages we readYes, per the vendor's docs
Free plan on the pricing pageYes (source)Yes (source)
EU region named in the vendor's docsNot stated on the pages we readYes (source)
Official Next.js guideGuideGuide
Official SDK languages (as listed)JavaScript, Go, Java, PHP, Python, C#, RubyJavaScript, Dart/Flutter, Swift, Python, C#
Documentation and pricingDocs · PricingDocs · Pricing
  • Clerk: Free plan is named Hobby
  • Clerk: SDK list includes frameworks (Next.js, React, Expo); languages are those on the SDK overview; Android/iOS also listed
  • Supabase Auth: Supabase Auth is a component of Supabase; free plan and regions refer to the Supabase platform
  • Supabase Auth: Free plan lists 50,000 MAU for Auth
  • Supabase Auth: Self-hosting is community-supported per docs

What models picked

Not enough picks yet

In October 2026, Clerk was named 5 times and Supabase Auth 7 times in Authentication (minimum 15 each for a comparison). We show no comparison of picks until both have enough.

What we do not measure

We do not measure price, quality, security, reliability, GDPR compliance or support. A model pick says what the models named, not which product is better for your project. For those questions use the vendors' own documentation: Clerk docs, Supabase Auth docs.

Sources

Pages the facts above were read on, checked 2026-10-19.