Comparison · Database

Firebase vs Supabase: facts from official sources

A side-by-side of Firebase and Supabase for the database, built from facts on each vendor's own pages. They have too few model picks in October 2026 to compare yet.

Facts checked 2026-10-19Picks measured 2026-10-19Method

Model pick, not a product recommendation. The models answered without a repository, existing code or tools, so the index shows what a model names when nothing in the project constrains it. It says nothing about quality, security, price or market share.

Facts from official sources

Read on the vendors' own pages on 2026-10-19. Where we could not verify a fact there, the table says so instead of guessing. No prices are shown; check the pricing pages.

Firebase and Supabase: facts from the vendors' own pages, checked 2026-10-19.
FactFirebaseSupabase
VendorGoogleSupabase
What it is (vendor's description)Google platform of managed services for building and running apps, including the Cloud Firestore NoSQL cloud-hosted database. (source)Postgres development platform where each project is a Postgres database, with optional auth, storage, functions, realtime and vector tooling. (source)
Typeplatformplatform
Open sourceNot stated on the pages we readYes, Apache-2.0 (repository) (source)
Self-hostingNot stated on the pages we readYes, per the vendor's docs
Free plan on the pricing pageYes (source)Yes (source)
EU region named in the vendor's docsYes (source)Yes (source)
Official Next.js guideNot stated on the pages we readGuide
Official SDK languages (as listed)Swift, Objective-C, Kotlin, Java, JavaScript, Dart/Flutter, C++, Node.jsJavaScript, Dart/Flutter, Swift, Python, C#
Documentation and pricingDocs · PricingDocs · Pricing
  • Firebase: Free plan is named Spark (no-cost)
  • Firebase: No official Next.js guide found; SSR guide exists at https://firebase.google.com/docs/web/ssr-apps but Next.js coverage unconfirmed
  • Firebase: Server SDKs also include Python, Go, C#, PHP, Ruby
  • Supabase: Self-hosting is community-supported per docs
  • Supabase: Next.js link is the Supabase Auth quickstart (no database-specific Next.js page fetched)
  • Supabase: Free-plan projects pause after low activity per pricing/homepage
  • Supabase: Regions page lists West EU (Ireland) and Central EU (Frankfurt)

What models picked

Not enough picks yet

In October 2026, Firebase was named 8 times and Supabase 13 times in Database (minimum 15 each for a comparison). We show no comparison of picks until both have enough.

What we do not measure

We do not measure price, quality, security, reliability, GDPR compliance or support. A model pick says what the models named, not which product is better for your project. For those questions use the vendors' own documentation: Firebase docs, Supabase docs.

Sources

Pages the facts above were read on, checked 2026-10-19.